Hello, and all that stuff

I’ve tried to be a blogger in the past. Always looking for my niche. I can’t even remember all the blogs I used to have. I’ve blogged about cooking, about writing, about becoming Catholic, about my greyhounds, about the miscellaneous goings on in my not-so-fabulous life. The problem was, all of these things were just things I did, but not things I did well. I’d never found anything I was really and truly good at. Then I became a mother. It’s totally cliche, I know, but I can’t help it, it’s true. I was never really GOOD at anything untl my baby boy came along.

And even then, no mom ever knows what she is doing right from the start. Sure, it’s something that comes naturally, but when your baby cries for 4 straight hours, or when he gets a fever, or when you accidentally clip his skin with the fingernail clippers, you freak out. It’s normal for moms to feel like they don’t know what they are doing, and I’ve definitely felt that way numerous times. But this is the first time in my life that it didn’t matter if I was educated, or talented, or beautiful. All that matters to my little boy is that I know a few songs, that I am not afraid to let him get a little dirty, that I will hug and kiss him when he’s sad. He doesn’t care about the other things. So for once in my life, I feel like I can actually be good at things, because no one is judging me based on my resume.

So here, I blog. I know, I know, there are 600,000 parenting blogs, and I’m sure every single one of them has something amazing to offer. I can’t be as amazing as everyone else, but I can promise I will be real, and I will be really me. And if that’s good enough for my baby, that’s good enough for me.

I can promise a blog full of product reviews, recipes, giveaways, pictures and stories about my life as a first time mommy. I hope you’ll stick around!

About Shauna

I'm a mommy to a little Monkey and a baby Bear. Married to a handsome man who is my co-zookeeper in our little Zoo. We're a happy family most of the time, figuring things out as we go, and learning a lot about ourselves in the process. But that's life!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello, and all that stuff

  1. *waves*

    Hi! 🙂 Yay! Even though I’m not a parent I LOVE Mommy blogs!

  2. Welcome back to the world of bloggers! Looking forward to reading your stuff… 🙂

Leave a Reply

